Every California driver must have insurance on their vehicle, and they must have certain minimum amounts of liability coverage. They must prove that they have an active policy in place, and they must present it to a law enforcement officer if he or she asks for proof of financial responsibility. According to the State of California, financial responsibility can be done in the following ways:
• A liability policy on the vehicle that meets minimum requirements.
• A cash deposit of $35,000 to the DMV.
• A self-insurance certificate that’s issued by the DMV.
• A surety bond for $35,000 from a company that has a license to do business in the State of California.
If you want more information about this issue, be sure to speak to someone at Think Insurance & Financial Services LLC in Pomona CA.
What Can Be Presented as Proof of Financial Responsibility
If you have an auto insurance policy in the State of California, the insurance card that’s given to you by your carrier will meet this requirement. But it isn’t the only way to prove financial responsibility. Other accepted methods of meeting this requirement include:
• A letter that’s authorized by the DMV if you made a cash deposit or are self-insured.
• The California Proof of Insurance Certificate (SR-22) form.
• Evidence that the vehicle is owned or leased by a public entity as it’s defined by the State of California.
• A Notification of Alternative Forms of Responsibility (REG 5085) form on a vehicle that’s covered by a commercial policy and is being registered for the first time.
• A Statement of Facts (REG 256) form to certify that you have proof of insurance on file with the Public Utilities Commission or the DMV.
Be sure to contact the office of Think Insurance & Financial Services LLC in Pomona, CA to get more information about the auto insurance laws in the State of California.