Does My Teen Need Special Auto Insurance?

In California, your teen driver will start their driving experience with a provisional license, meaning that though they are legally allowed to drive, they haven’t earned their complete driving privileges yet. California provisional drivers under 18 years of age have specific driving restrictions, such as not being allowed to drive between the hours of 11 pm and 5 am, and not being able to have passengers under the age of 20 in the vehicle, unless accompanied by someone over the age of 25 who is a licensed driver. These restrictions last for the first 12 months of a teen’s provisional license.

Provisional drivers have specific insurance needs. Keep the following in mind before you hand over the keys to your teen:

Provisional drivers are required by law to maintain the same minimum insurance coverage as their parents. In California, all drivers, including teens are required to carry the following coverage:

  • $30,000 in bodily injury per each accident
  • $15,000 in bodily injury per each person
  • $5,000 in property damage per each accident

If your Pomona CA teen has a provisional license and is using your vehicle, they should be added to your automobile insurance policy. All licensed drivers in your home, including teen drivers, need to either be added to or excluded from your automobile policy. If your teen is involved in a collision and you have not added them to your policy your insurer may not cover the damage to your vehicle, other vehicles involved, or any medical costs for injuries sustained by victims.

Check with your THINK Insurance & Financial Services agent find out which discounts may apply to the teen driver in your household. For more information about insurance coverage for your provisional driver, contact the Pomona, CA insurance experts at THINK Insurance & Financial Services today.